skip to content

Black Advisory Hub

About cam

The University is made up of Schools, Faculties, Departments and Colleges who all contribute to your experience as a student.



Students live, eat and socialise in one of the University’s 31 autonomous Colleges. Undergraduates receive supervisions organised through their College – small group teaching sessions that are regarded as one of the best teaching models in the world. When applying to the University at undergraduate level, you can choose to apply to a specific College, or to be allocated to a College who will consider your application. At postgraduate level, you apply directly to a Department and are then assigned a College after your place on the course has been confirmed. 

College A-Z



There are six Schools, each of which constitutes an administrative grouping of Faculties and other institutions. They are: Arts & Humanities, Humanities & Social Sciences, Biological Sciences, Clinical Medicine, Physical Sciences, and Technology.

There is a Council for each School, including representatives from each of its Faculties and Departments. The Schools are then represented on the General Board.


Faculties and Departments

University Faculties organise teaching and research into individual subjects or groups of subjects. Their work is normally organised into sub-divisions called Departments.

Centres of studies are controlled by committees of management, bringing together representatives from several disciplines.

Links to all of the Schools', Faculties' and Departments' websites can be found in the Department A-Z.